Among the large number of questions the clerk receives, there are a few that are asked more than most. Here you will find many of these "Frequently Asked Questions" and their answers.

If your particular question is not here, or you need elaboration on an answer given here, feel free to contact the Clerk by phone below or by email.


  • What is the Court-Ordered Payment (COP) Program?
  • It is the payment program provided by the Clerk that allows defendants to make partial payments on court costs and fines imposed by the sentencing judge. The in-court clerks distribute an information sheet to all defendants at sentencing.
  • Where can I get more information?
  • Click here for the information sheet and a brochure.
  • Who is eligible for the COP Program?
  • Cases are automatically set on the payment program at sentencing. You must either pay in full the day of sentencing or make your first monthly payment and pay the administrative fee on the day of sentencing.
  • What happens if I can’t make a payment or miss a payment?
  • You should contact the Clerk’s Office at 850-577-4220 as soon as you realize that you will be unable to make a payment so that we can offer alternative solutions. We will work with you to insure that your obligations are met. If you do not contact us, we will issue a late notice, request suspension of your Florida driver license, and assess other fees.
  • When do my payments begin?
  • Your first payment is due on the day you are sentenced.
  • How do I make my installment payments?
  • All payments should be made by cash, money order or credit card. You may pay in person at the Leon County Clerk’s Office, Leon County Courthouse, 301 S. Monroe St, 1st floor, Suite 100, Tallahassee, FL 32301. You may mail payments to Clerk of Court, ATTN: Court Costs and Fines, PO Box 267, Tallahassee, FL 32302-0276.
  • How do I figure what I owe?
  • Please call our office at 850-577-4220.
  • Are their any additional fees or penalties incurred by being on the COP Program?
    • There is a one-time $25.00 administrative assessment for making partial payments pursuant to FS 28.24(26).

    • There is also a $10.00 per month late fee if a late notice is issued.

    • The clerk will request suspension of your Florida driver license pursuant to FS 322.245(5) if you fail to make payments timely.

    • The Clerk is required pursuant to FS 28.246(6) to turn your debt over to a collection agency or law firm if you are not making timely payments. If this happens, the collection agency or law firm may add an additional 40% to the amount you owe.

  • Can my cash bond be applied to my court costs and fines?
  • Yes, FS 903.286 requires the Clerk to withhold from the return of the cash bond, posted on behalf of a defendant, sufficient funds to pay any unpaid court fees, court costs and criminal penalties. You will remain responsible for paying the balance of any outstanding costs and fines.
  • Can the Clerk's office alter or adjust my costs and fines?
  • The Clerk's Office cannot adjust the total amount you owe, because costs and fines are ordered by the court. But we can and will help you in meeting your court-ordered obligations if you stay in touch with us.

    Leon County Clerk’s Office
    COP Program / Central Cashiering
    Leon County Courthouse
    1st Floor, Suite 100
    301 South Monroe Street
    Tallahassee, FL 32301
    Hours of operation: 8:00am to 5:00pm